True joy… a sacrifice of praise (particpating in Proverbs 31 Joy Carnival )


Today as I watched the morning come in my window and the stars where saying their final goodbyes to the day, my heart was somewhat overwhelmed with recent realities of life and I literally just laid down my head and cried.  Our heavenly Father seems so close in the early morning hours and it comforts me to be with Him in this special time of the night watches just before daybreak.  When I can be still and listen — my manna for this day.

In the Bible we are reminded of the value of seeking the Lord in the early hours as referenced in

Mark 1:35
New American Standard Bible
In the early morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house, and went away to a secluded place, and was praying there.

Jesus was an early riser to seek the Lord in prayer as mentioned over and over in a secluded place.

Our Heavenly Father knew we need the quiet and He placed Jesus as and example  of prayer and intimacy with Him for the beginning of the day.  This so resonates with me to get up and do the Jeremiah 33:3 thing– seek me and you will find me and I will show you secret and amazing things.

So here I am feeling very brokenhearted for a myriad of reasons: the  very traumatized children I am working with and for in the ministry I lead ( Yahweh Center Children’s Village http://www.yahwehcenter.org

Lamenting in particular for  a child whose family of origin for four generations has practiced prostitution and how this sweet boy with is fighting such intense emotions that he has to have a nap to renew his strength.  Yet oh how this child can sing and his face all aglow as he broke free from his activity to pick a dandelion and give it to me.  Bravely in a praise mode at that moment.
A true sacrifice of praise.

Then there is my mother in law, Verda who calmly called my husband to tell him that the Doctor has told her there  is not much time and maybe she should consider Hospice.  She is gently in a ”  joyful ” place witnessing serenely because the joy of the Lord is her strength.  ( Nehemiah 8: 10 )

Another..

One lady, I admire so much dear Sue who is such an inspiring encourager to others although she has many physical challenges as her daily life, she graces all who come to know her through the joy she humbly exudes in her daily walk in Christ.  Her joy is a ” sacrifice of praise”. She writes me a lovely email and in it barely mentions surgery today.

The faces of my staff who learned yesterday that our paychecks are going to be held up because of delays in our payment for our professional treatment work.. with one sending me an email to tell me that she and one of the nurses in our psychiatric unit made banners and had the children singing for God inhabits the praises of His people…

My mentor, Shirley who is in so much pain from physical afflictions that it could be a blog in itself .. witnessing, encouraging  others with joy! She demonstrates the multiplication of encouragement.

All these things lifted up for desperate prayer.

This testimony of ” joy” in the Lord begins to lift my spirits and before long by reading His word and with remeberance of the power of the testimony of His children whose circumstances seem anything of joy…. my heart and spirit are lifted and the joy of the Lord over takes all the emotions and suddenly the joy of the Lord is my strength, and it is overflowing.

I go down and put on the coffee turning on my local Christian radio hearing His name lifted up in praise and turn to see the kitchen filled with light.

So thankful to experience this mystery of His inexplicable joy!

7 thoughts on “True joy… a sacrifice of praise (particpating in Proverbs 31 Joy Carnival )

  1. What an inspiring post and great reminder. Thank you for sharing. I love the scripture you used Jer. 33:3. The Lord has been speaking to me about morning time as well, so this is confirmation. And here I am up at 12:30 reading all of these amazing blogs! 6 am is going to come early! 🙂

  2. Jeremiah 33:3 thing– seek me and you will find me and I will show you secret and amazing things: that is such a powerful scripture.

    Such touching stories you chose to share. I feel the joy in your post just by how you spoke of these testimonies. And it uplifts my spirit 🙂

  3. Sister Carla, thank you for the inspiring reminder that Yahweh is always with us no matter the circumstances.

    This morning I got up and opened my Bible to Psalm 92 (with Psalm 91 verses 9-16 in plain sight) and began reading. Here are the first six verses of Psalm 92:

    1 It is a good thing to give thanks unto the LORD, and to sing praises unto thy name, O most High:
    2 To shew forth thy lovingkindness in the morning, and thy faithfulness every night,
    3 Upon an instrument of ten strings, and upon the psaltery; upon the harp with a solemn sound.
    4 For thou, LORD, hast made me glad through thy work: I will triumph in the works of thy hands.
    5 O LORD, how great are thy works! and thy thoughts are very deep.
    6 A brutish man knoweth not; neither doth a fool understand this.

    I love how the HOLY SPIRIT ministers to the Body in these intricate and interwoven ways.

    Sister you are always a breath of fresh air and an inspiration to those around you.

    The impact Yahweh Center is having on each little life it leads to the healing hands of Yeshua cannot be described by the words of men, truly such Joy and its depth will take eternity to even begin to comprehend.

    I pray that you continue to reside in the peace of our LORD.

    God Bless, your brother in Yeshua, daniel

  4. You are one such person in my life that reminds me of that awesome verse of Nehemiah 8:10 and I have witnessed the truth of the sacrifice of praise through your leadership at the Yahweh Center especially. Thank you for that. God continues to use you in mighty ways!

  5. I enjoyed reading your post, and I must say the last part of verse Psalm 5:11 in the NKJV stood out to me. Several weeks ago as I was speaking encouragement to my sister-in-law about a situation in her life she had shared with me, the words “He is our defender” came out of my lips. I have since been searching the scriptures for a reference speaking of God as our defender. I don’t have many translations here at home, but my search through the ones I do have came up empty. Until now – NKJV “But let all those who rejoice put their trust in you; let them ever shout for joy, because you DEFEND them.” Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

